The Road Less Traveled: A New Psychology of Love, Traditional Values and Spiritual Growth by M. Scott Peck has to be one of my favorite books. The section on love is both informative and inspirational. He tackles the issues of the myth of romantic love, dependency, self-sacrifice and the risk of loss, independence, commitment and confrontation.

He writes “love is too large, too deep ever to be truly understood or measured or limited within the framework of words. I would not write this if I did not believe the attempt to have value, but no matter how valuable, I begin with the certain knowledge that the attempt will be in some ways inadequate…i define love thus: the will to extend one’s self for the purpose of nurturing one’s own or another’s spiritual growth.” Even in the ugliness of reality he details comfort can be found.

I recommend this book to you, readers, if you’ve ever had questions or apprehensions about love and are looking for some sort of explanation. I’ve read it at many times at different stages of my life and have taken something different from it each time. I hope it impacts you as much as it has me.

xo

