atlantishome

In continuation with my ‘interview with a blogger’ series Judy from Atlantis Home was nice enough to agree to an interview. She has amazing style, which is seen in her own outfits as well as her vintage store, Atlantis Vintage. Here she shares some tips on where to shop and how to find the perfect vintage piece. Enjoy! Xo

White Blank Page: Let me start by saying I absolutely love your style. What is your background in fashion?

Judy: I don’t have formal training in the fashion industry, but it’s safe to say that I was born with a love of fashion. I couldn’t imagine doing anything else!

judycollage3

WBP: I see that you really love clothing from the 80s. Is that your favorite era in terms of fashion?

Judy: Well, it definitely is as you can obviously tell. Shoulders and all the glitz–I can’t get enough!

WBP: I know this might be an impossible question, but can you name your favorite designer (s)?

Judy: Rei Kawakubo. Martin Margiela. Junya Wantanabe. Dries van Noten. Rick Owens.

WBP: Your house looks absolutely beautiful from the pictures you posted. What’s your favorite room in your home and why?

Judy: My favorite room is my living room. I love my 60’s daybed, and I feel I have a lot of pieces in this room that are very luxe. I feel glamourous when I sit down to read there.

judyhome

WBP: Do you prefer jeans or dresses?

Judy: Jeans. I’m very long waisted, and have huge shoulders–dress can look odd on me.

WBP: Can you give the readers some tips on finding great pieces of vintage clothing?

Judy: Stay away from nostalgic pieces–nothing precious. Go for the glitz and glamour. Look for quality and buy things that have unusual detail. Patience, patience!!

WBP: What’s your favorite store? Favorite online boutique?

Judy: My favorite store is Opening Ceremony. I have only been to the one in NY, but I’m visiting their LA location in June. I can’t wait. Shopping at Opening Ceremony is too good to be true. For on-line shopping, I like E-bay for vintage, and Brown’s fashion for hard to find pieces. I also like YOOX.

WBP: What are some of your favorite blogs?

Judy: Luxirare, I love yours too! The Glamourai, Stellas Roar, Heights of Fashion, Brook and Lyn, Nini and Hahn’s blogs, Sartorialist, Garance Dore, Maison des Reveries, She Plays Dress Up, Sea of Shoes, and many many more that I have not named.

WBP: Can you tell us a little bit about Atlantis Vintage? Where do you get the clothes from and how do you choose them?

Judy: Atlantis Vintage has been a long time in the works, I’ve been collecting vintage clothing since I was in high school. I buy from many sources. Thrift stores, consignment stores, antique stores—all kinds of places. It takes a lot of time, but it is truly a labor of love.

6a0105364db45b970c01127965f4b728a4-800wi

WBP: What’s one thing you can’t leave home without?

Judy: I hate to say this–my cell phone.

WBP: What can we expect from Atlantis Underground?

Judy: Well actually it will go under the name Atlantis Dry Goods, and you can expect a small sampling to start. Petticoat skirts, peasant tops, and camis in black, white and natural. I will be adding more as we progress.

