I may be a little late on this but my new obsession is La Roux. While the 21 year old’s lyrics revolves around themes we’ve heard before, she introduces the almost cliche and typical emotions in a raw and original way. Here are a few of my favorites.

Been there, done that, messed around,
I’m having fun, don’t put me down,
I’ll never let you sweep me off my feet.

I won’t let you in again,
The messages I’ve tried to send,
My information’s just not going in.

Burning bridges, shore to shore,
I break away from something more,
I’m not to, not to love until it’s cheap.

Been there, done that, messed around
I’m having fun, don’t put me down
I’ll never let you sweep me off my feet.

This time baby I’ll be Bulletproof
This time baby I’ll be Bulletproof

I won’t let you turn around,
And tell me now, I’m much too proud
To walk away from something when it’s dead.

Do do do your dirty words
Come out to play when you are hurt?
There’s certain things that should be left unsaid.

Tick tick tick tick on the watch now,
Life’s too short for me to stop –
Oh baby, your time is running out.

I won’t let you turn around,
I’ll tell you now, I’m much too proud,
All you do is fill be up with doubt.

This time baby I’ll be bulletproof.
This time I’ll be bulletproof
This time I’ll be bulletproof.

I’m the obsessor
Holding your hand
It seems you have forgotten
About your man
Alone in the darkness
My bed’s a different land
Your touch intensifies

And I’m in the quicksand
I’m in the quicksand
I’m in the quicksand

You’re the upsettor
Stroking my hand
What’s my position?
I don’t understand
Am I your possession?
Am I in demand?
Oh when you turn to me

I’m in the quicksand
I’m in the quicksand
I’m in the quicksand

You, you moved into my mind again oh
You, walking around and free oh
Oh I could let you stay
But I’m walking on broken ground again
Oh, oh when will I learn?
All you do is push me back in the dark

I’m in the quicksand
I’m in the quicksand
I’m in the quicksand
I’m in the quicksand
I’m in the quicksand

la roux- cover my eyes

No wonder I’m scared
To look in your eyes
You’ve turned me away
So many times
You can take it away
At any given moment
It’s hard to believe
While you’re in this disguise

So would you hold me please
I’m trying hard to breathe
I’m just surviving
So would you hold me please
I’m trying hard to breathe
Stop me from crying

When I see you walking with her
I have to cover my eyes
(I have to cover my eyes)
Every time you leave with her
Something inside me dies
(Something inside of me dies)

No wonder it hurts
To sit by your side
(TurnED me away so many times)
There’s a different song
I can play you tonight
(We don’t have to sit here in silence)
We can break the pattern
We can change the colour
(It’s just a little sacrifice)
You don’t need to worry about the others
(It’s all in your mind)

So would you hold me please
I’m trying hard to breathe
I’m just surviving
So would you hold me please
I’m trying hard to breathe
Stop me from crying

When I see you walking with her
I have to cover my eyes
(I have to cover my eyes)
Every time you leave with her
Something inside me dies
Something inside of me dies

