As you may or may not have seen on my twitter, I broke my glasses last week trying to clean them on my sweater. Without any back up pair, I was left blind and squinting in all my classes. So pissed, my frustration soon turned to excitement when I realized I could go shopping for a new pair! Having no idea what I wanted, I went around to a few eye glass shops until I stumbled upon Silver Lining Opticians in the West Village. I just had to blog about this shop- not just because of the cute glasses I chose but because when you are lucky enough to find a store where the owners give you undivided attention, are patient, honest and don’t try to sell you things you don’t need you just have to share it with everybody else. I can’t just chose something on the spot, I need to try on as many pairs as possible and then go back to the potential pair a hundred times until I’m completely sure (after all, how often do you buy prescription glasses, once every three years?) The owners were so kind, picked out glasses that suited my face perfectly and allowed me to spend as much time as I wanted trying them on.

I ended up choosing these pair from Dita. Aren’t they cute?

dita2

The store specializes in vintage sunglasses. While perusing them as my order was being completed I came across the most beautiful pair of vintage Balenciaga’s. It was love at first sight. It was also the first time my bf Greg ever loved a pair of oversized glasses on me, which is no easy feat. The last thing I needed was a new pair of sunglasses and of course I walked out with a new pair of sunglasses. So excited! I love the nude frame and color of the lenses. Will post more pics later

IMG_1037

IMG_1038

xo k

